OpenSSL    
 General |  Binaries |  Bugs |  Roadmap |  Security Policy |  Contacts |  Credits 
 
Home
Download
About
News
FAQ
Documents
Support

 

About the OpenSSL Project

The goal of the project

The OpenSSL Project is a collaborative effort to develop a robust, commercial-grade, full-featured, and Open Source toolkit implementing the Secure Sockets Layer (SSL v2/v3) and Transport Layer Security (TLS v1) protocols as well as a full-strength general purpose cryptography library managed by a worldwide community of volunteers that use the Internet to communicate, plan, and develop the OpenSSL toolkit and its related documentation.

Derivation and License

OpenSSL is based on the SSLeay library developed by Eric Young and Tim Hudson. The OpenSSL toolkit is licensed under an Apache-style licence which basically means that you are free to get and use it for commercial and non-commercial purposes.

The OpenSSL Core and Development Team

The OpenSSL project is volunteer-driven. We do not have any specific requirement for volunteers other than a strong willingness to really contribute while following the projects goal. The OpenSSL project is formed by a development team, which consists of the current active developers and other major contributors. Additionally a subset of the developers form the OpenSSL core team which globally manages the OpenSSL project. Anyone wanting to join the development effort should subscribe to the developers mailing list openssl-dev@openssl.org, where all development efforts are coordinated.

The current OpenSSL core team consists of (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location Key ID / Fingerprint




Mark J. Cox mark@openssl.org UK 49A563D9
Dr. Stephen Henson steve@openssl.org UK FA40E9E2, F295C759 (old key)
Ben Laurie ben@openssl.org UK 2118CF83
Andy Polyakov appro@openssl.org SE 1FE8E023

The current OpenSSL development team consists of (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location  Key ID




Matt Caswell matt@openssl.org UK 0E604491
Mark J. Cox mark@openssl.org UK 49A563D9
Viktor Dukhovni viktor@openssl.org US
Dr. Stephen Henson steve@openssl.org UK FA40E9E2, F295C759 (old key)
Tim Hudson tjh@openssl.org AU 41FBF7DD
Lutz Jänicke jaenicke@openssl.org DE BDD52F1C, 9C58A66D (old key)
Emilia Käsper emilia@openssl.org CH
Ben Laurie ben@openssl.org UK 2118CF83
Steve Marquess marquess@openssl.org US 6D1892F5(old key: CE69424E)
Richard Levitte levitte@openssl.org SE 7DF9EE8C (old key: F709453B)
Bodo Möller bodo@openssl.org CH 5A6A9B85
Andy Polyakov appro@openssl.org SE 1FE8E023
Kurt Roeckx kurt@openssl.org BE 41C25E5D
Rich Salz rsalz@openssl.org US 5C51B27C
D099 684D C7C2 1E02 E14A 8AFE F234 7945 5C51 B27C
Geoff Thorpe geoff@openssl.org QC E18C1C32

Currently inactive OpenSSL members (in alphabetical order):


Individual Email Location  Key ID



Ralf S. Engelschall rse@openssl.org DE
Nils Larsch nils@openssl.org DE

OpenSSL Emeritae - old members now off doing other things (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location



Holger Reif holger@openssl.org DE
Paul C. Sutton paul@openssl.org UK

In Memoriam - members sadly no longer with us:

Individual Location


Ulf Möller DE