OpenSSL    
 General |  Contacts |  Credits 
 
Title
FAQ
About
News
Documents
Source
Contributions
Support
Related

 

About the OpenSSL Project

The goal of the project

The OpenSSL Project is a collaborative effort to develop a robust, commercial-grade, full-featured, and Open Source toolkit implementing the Secure Sockets Layer (SSL v2/v3) and Transport Layer Security (TLS v1) protocols as well as a full-strength general purpose cryptography library managed by a worldwide community of volunteers that use the Internet to communicate, plan, and develop the OpenSSL toolkit and its related documentation.

Derivation and License

OpenSSL is based on the excellent SSLeay library developed by Eric A. Young and Tim J. Hudson. The OpenSSL toolkit is licensed under an Apache-style licence which basically means that you are free to get and use it for commercial and non-commercial purposes.

The OpenSSL Core and Development Team

The OpenSSL project is volunteer-driven. We do not have any specific requirement for volunteers other than a strong willingness to really contribute while following the projects goal. The OpenSSL project is formed by a development team, which consists of the current active developers and other major contributors. Additionally a subset of the developers form the OpenSSL core team which globally manages the OpenSSL project. Anyone wanting to join the development effort should subscribe to the developers mailing list openssl-dev@openssl.org, where all development efforts are coordinated.

The current OpenSSL core team consists of (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location



Mark J. Cox mark@openssl.org UK
Dr. Stephen Henson steve@openssl.org UK
Ben Laurie ben@openssl.org UK

The current OpenSSL development team consists of (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location  Key ID




Mark J. Cox mark@openssl.org UK 49A563D9
Dr. Stephen Henson steve@openssl.org UK FA40E9E2, F295C759 (old key)
Lutz Jänicke jaenicke@openssl.org DE 9C58A66D
Ben Laurie ben@openssl.org UK 2118CF83
Steve Marquess marquess@opensslfoundation.com US CE69424E
Bodo Möller bodo@openssl.org DE 5A6A9B85
Andy Polyakov appro@openssl.org SE 1FE8E023

Currently inactive OpenSSL members (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location 



Ralf S. Engelschall rse@openssl.org DE
Nils Larsch nils@openssl.org DE
Richard Levitte levitte@openssl.org SE
Geoff Thorpe geoff@openssl.org QC

OpenSSL Emeritae - old members now off doing other things (in alphabetical order):

Individual Email Location



Holger Reif holger@openssl.org DE
Paul C. Sutton paul@openssl.org UK

In Memoriam - members sadly no longer with us:

Individual Location


Ulf Möller DE